BBC Book List challenge

I actually found this list of books on Facebook where it stated that an average person has read 6 out of 100 books listed here (no idea how truthful that statement is) and I thought it was quite interesting. I used to read so much more and I think I should learn how to put the laptop away and actually read a book instead. I tend to read more when I go home and during holidays. There are a lot of classics in this list and some random ones (The Da Vinci Code???), I think I have read 13 of these, some in English and some in Finnish. I have also seen quite a few of the film versions but the books usually tend to be better.


1 Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen
2 The Lord of the Rings – JRR Tolkien
3 Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte
4 Harry Potter series – JK Rowling
5 To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee
6 The Bible
7 Wuthering Heights – Emily Bronte
8 Nineteen Eighty Four – George Orwell
9 His Dark Materials – Philip Pullman
10 Great Expectations – Charles Dickens
11 Little Women – Louisa M Alcott
12 Tess of the D’Urbervilles – Thomas Hardy
13 Catch 22 – Joseph Heller
14 Complete Works of Shakespeare
15 Rebecca – Daphne Du Maurier
16 The Hobbit – JRR Tolkien
17 Birdsong – Sebastian Faulks
18 Catcher in the Rye – JD Salinger
19 The Time Traveler’s Wife
20 Middlemarch – George Eliot – maybe
21 Gone With The Wind – Margaret Mitchell
22 The Great Gatsby – F Scott Fitzgerald
23 Bleak House – Charles Dickens
24 War and Peace – Leo Tolstoy
25 The Hitch Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams
26 Brideshead Revisited – Evelyn Waugh
27 Crime and Punishment – Fyodor Dostoyevsky
28 Grapes of Wrath – John Steinbeck
29 Alice in Wonderland – Lewis Carroll
30 The Wind in the Willows – Kenneth Grahame
31 Anna Karenina – Leo Tolstoy
32 David Copperfield – Charles Dickens
33 Chronicles of Narnia – CS Lewis
35 Persuasion – Jane Austen
36 The Alchemist – Paulo Coelho
37 The Kite Runner – Khaled Hosseini
38 Captain Corelli’s Mandolin – Louis De Bernieres
39 Memoirs of a Geisha – Arthur Golden
40 Winnie the Pooh – AA Milne
41 Animal Farm – George Orwell
42 The Da Vinci Code – Dan Brown
43 One Hundred Years of Solitude – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
44 A Prayer for Owen Meaney – John Irving
45 The Woman in White – Wilkie Collins
46 Anne of Green Gables – LM Montgomery
47 Far From The Madding Crowd – Thomas Hardy
48 The Handmaid’s Tale – Margaret Atwood
49 Lord of the Flies – William Golding
50 Atonement – Ian McEwan
51 Life of Pi – Yann Martel
52 Dune – Frank Herbert
53 Cold Comfort Farm – Stella Gibbons
54 Sense and Sensibility – Jane Austen
55 A Suitable Boy – Vikram Seth
56 The Shadow of the Wind – Carlos Ruiz Zafon
57 A Tale Of Two Cities – Charles Dickens
58 Brave New World – Aldous Huxley
59 The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night – Mark Haddon
60 Love In The Time Of Cholera – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
61 Of Mice and Men – John Steinbeck
62 Lolita – Vladimir Nabokov
63 The Secret History – Donna Tartt
64 The Lovely Bones – Alice Sebold
65 Count of Monte Cristo – Alexandre Dumas
66 On The Road – Jack Kerouac
67 Jude the Obscure – Thomas Hardy
68 Bridget Jones’s Diary – Helen Fielding
69 Midnight’s Children – Salman Rushdie
70 Moby Dick – Herman Melville
71 Oliver Twist – Charles Dickens
72 Dracula – Bram Stoker
73 The Secret Garden – Frances Hodgson Burnett
74 Notes From A Small Island – Bill Bryson
75 Ulysses – James Joyce
76 The Bell Jar – Sylvia Plath
77 Swallows and Amazons – Arthur Ransome
78 Germinal – Emile Zola
79 Vanity Fair – Thackeray
80 Possession – AS Byatt
81 A Christmas Carol – Charles Dickens
82 Cloud Atlas – David Mitchell
83 The Color Purple – Alice Walker
84 The Remains of the Day – Kazuo Ishiguro
85 Madame Bovary – Gustave Flaubert
86 A Fine Balance – Rohinton Mistry
87 Charlotte’s Web – EB White
88 The Five People You Meet In Heaven – Mitch Alborn
89 Adventures of Sherlock Holmes – Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
90 The Faraway Tree Collection – Enid Blyton
91 Heart of Darkness – Joseph Conrad started but never finished
92 The Little Prince – Antoine De Saint-Exupery
93 The Wasp Factory – Iain Banks
94 Watership Down – Richard Adam
95 A Confederacy of Dunces – John Kennedy Toole
96 A Town Like Alice – Nevil Shute
97 The Three Musketeers – Alexandre Dumas
98 A Clockwork Orange – Anthony Burgess
99 Charlie and the Chocolate Factory – Roald Dahl
100 Les Miserables – Victor Hugo

Most of the time we pretend to be too busy to read, but all that time we spend on Facebook, reading blogs, surfing randomly is a huge part of our life right now and we could easily cut that amount and spend some of it reading. So my goal is to start reading books from this list, maybe re-read some of them books I read ages ago and maybe skip a few (the Bible at least). We have some of these at home and I know I will have access to a few others as well. Maybe in 5 years I will have read all of them? I will start with Coco Chanel biography that I have been reading since Christmas holidays.

Reading is a good way to relax and to get you to think about something else than commitments and stress, especially if you get really focused into the plot and forget about everything that is happening around you. And in addition reading has lots and lots of benefits, it improves and expands vocabulary and knowledge of the world, gives you topics to discuss, improves imagination, creativity and memory etc. The list goes on.

Try to read at least one book before the summer! Smart people read books and I want to be smart.

Pictures: weheartit

This entry was posted in Books, general, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to BBC Book List challenge

  1. steffy says:

    love this post! i love to read but getting started on a book is always the hard part for me!

    ❤ steffy
    steffysprosandcons.blogspot.com

  2. lin says:

    Nice post! So much of what has influenced me has come from books I read. I’ve read about half the books in the list, including the really cheesy ones like The Da Vinci Code that I needn’t have bothered with. But sometimes even bad books make good conversation topics. This list made realised I missed out a lot of Dickens! And I love that so many of the books I read as a child made it on the list – I really love Charlotte’s Web by E B White.

    • Meri says:

      Wow that is a lot of books! I have also read the Da Vinci Code and pretty much all other Dan Brown books but I have no idea why they are included in the list. There are so many books that I want to read and some that I feel like I should read. Books also make really good conversation topics, I can’t wait to read now!:)

  3. Siobhan says:

    I’d finished 42 books on that list. I didn’t count the Bible as I’ve only read chunks. That reading room above looks divine!

    • Meri says:

      That’s impressive, I definitely need to catch up with reading now:D I love the room as well, I found so many pictures of reading rooms and they all look amazing, I definitely want one in my home in the future.

  4. verychiclist says:

    OMG…
    Some days ago while I was preparing a post on Emmanuelle Alt I saw you were posting about Emmanuelle Alt.
    Now, while I was preparing a post about a list of books I see this post from you! (I was writing a post with the aim of exchanging a personal list of books with my readers)

    So I have to worry?!:-)) This is strange!:-)

    • Meri says:

      haha that is quite funny! I have actually had this happen with someone else’s blog, sometimes I plan a post and they have already posted about the same topic or I have posted something and check their blog and they have posted about a similar topic. Don’t worry, I’m sure it is normal:D

  5. LOve this post. Books are so amazing I hate not reading which happens often but then again I usually place reading above my obligations because I get so into them. YEAH BE SMART AND BE A READER haha

    dearest,

    Fashion Nostalgia

    • Meri says:

      I tend to do that when I get really into a book, I am not able to put it down for one minute. hahah reading has a lot advantages:P

  6. Stazzy says:

    Tein tämän joskus viime marraskuussa, ja sain kasaan muistaakseni 19 kokonaan luettua ja muutaman osakahlatun. Viidesosa… vielä riittää luettavaa.

    • Meri says:

      Joo tätä ois nyt tarkotus alotella, eihän niitä kuitenkaan mikään kiire ole lukea. Eli muutama vuosi saattaa vierähtää, että saan suurimman osan luettua:D

  7. Greg says:

    Hi Meri,
    I think i have read about 36 of these books and have about another 30 of them in my possession. Sadly, i just don’t have the time to read as much as i would like or to always read what i would like. I also read a lot of books that would not make this list. I don’t think it matters if a book acquires a certain “status”. Reading should simply be fun for the reader. For every “classic” novel i have read, i have also probably read half a dozen “cheesy” books. The important thing is that i enjoyed them. After reading all day at work, you don’t always want to come home to War and Peace!!! We should not allow ourselves to be influenced by literary snobery or think that we should only read what makes the list. Most reading is beneficial in some way. Thanks for the blog.

    • Meri says:

      Thank you for the long comment. I totally agree with you, reading should be something relaxing and enjoyable to take your mind off from other things. I have also read many books that are not on the list, I mainly wanted to challenge myself to read more and to learn to put the computer away sometimes.

  8. Ryan Green says:

    Hi there,

    Just a small comment – you are missing number 34! I was copying this list to create my own reading list (18 already checked off)

    • Ryan Green says:

      Which is, by the way:

      34 Emma – Jane Austen

      • Hugh says:

        Heh, thanks for this… I just noticed exactly the same thing, and was trying to figure out what number 34 could have been.

        That’s good news for me, since I’ve already read that one! I’ve been working my way through this version of the list (there’s a couple out there) for the past couple of months. It’s been great going so far, I’ve read a bunch of books I otherwise would never have read, including Vanity Fair, A Town Like Alice, and five sixths of Jane Austen (skipping Mansfield Park). The only one I haven’t enjoyed so far is The Wasp Factory, but it’s certainly memorable even if I didn’t personally enjoy it.

        I’m now 41% of the way through. Next stop is Possession, which I hear is great… though I’m still struggling my way through The Three Musketeers and Ulysses.

      • Meri says:

        That is quite impressive! I haven’t really read much of the books listed here recently but at least I have been reading and picking up the habit of carrying a book with me all the time. I am actually reading Vanity Fair at the moment but find it slightly difficult to get through. maybe one day:D

  9. edmund dantes says:

    I really liked a book called the tales of ryan foster it just came out on kindle in november and i thought it was really really good cant wait for the next one to come out!

  10. Pingback: London Week 1 |

  11. kattibrie says:

    I’ve read 23. And many are on my to-read-soon list…

Leave a Reply

