A White Tee

Sounds quite basic and simple and something that can be found anywhere. Wrong! It seems to be one of the most difficult items to find (or I am just way too picky) and it is also a wardrobe basic that I want to own. I looked up a few online shops for white t-shirts, it was hard to find ones that would satisfy my criteria: low V-neck, loose but not completely shapeless and not see through. The last part seems to be the most difficult one, otherwise perfect t-shirts will show everything that is underneath and I definitely don’t want that.

Right now this one looks perfect, it is by James Perse but the problem is that I have no idea where to get this because I will not buy anything online unless I get to try it on first. Also she is a very skinny model so it is hard to imagine that the top would look like this on me, I would probably have to go a few sizes up to make sure it is not too tight.

This was another option that looked suitable, unfortunately the price is around 200 US dollars so I don’t think I can possibly justify that price for a plain t-shirt. It is 96% silk though so I assume it would feel amazing.

This is not a t-shirt but it looks like a perfect casual shirt that could be worn with jeans or denim shorts to look smart but casual. This is available in several different colours and they all look beautiful. Also by James Perse, $175. All of these shirts would be perfect for everything really, I will have to wait and see if I see these in real life because James Perse seems to have very good and affordable basics for men and women.

Pictures: James Perse, La Garconne

This entry was posted in Brands, Essentials, Wardrobe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A White Tee

  1. I’m totally with you on this! However I have to resort to buying online, living in a small village in Norway. If the clothes don’t fit I return them.

    • Meri says:

      That is quite understandable, I live in a rather big city so I can find a lot of shops and brands here but if there is something I can’t find I will usually just wait. I’m not in a rush to find these items 🙂 thanks for commenting

  2. Steffy says:

    haha too funny i feel you on this. they can fit so wrong and since they are white they make make you look awful!!

    ❤ steffy
    steffysprosandcons.blogspot.com

  3. I adore a classic white shirt any style any type.

    dearest,
    http://fashionnostalgia.blogspot.com/

  4. francesca says:

    i really really really like your blog!
    i love the fact its just so striped back but yet so lovely to read!!!
    honestly i love it so im going to follow you xxx via blog lovin

  5. I have a hard time. I think the LnA tees are supposed to be amazing. They’re about $70 USD. I am nervous about buying them online too without trying on, but I think I’m going to breakdown and get that brand soon!

    http://gorjessfashionforless.blogspot.com/

  6. It’s so simple, yet so hard to find. Same with white shirts, and white clothes in general really. And then the problem with white, once you find it, it lasts only so long. I know I still have it in black, not sure if I finally had to toss the white of a Proenza Schouler for Target tee. Oddly enough before the collection launched that was one of things I was most excited about. I’m realizing I prefer tees in general to have a slouchy, tissue weight but not see-through fit.

    • Meri says:

      I guess when I find the perfect one I should stock up and only use one until its completely worn out and then take the next one out. I agree with the slouchiness and lightness but it seems impossible to find something that is not see-through.

Leave a Reply

