14 years of Horse Riding

I usually post about topics that are related to fashion or style because they are things that I am interested in and not related to academics. I thought I would post about something else that has been an important part of my life since I was just seven, horse riding.

I started riding in first grade with my friend, just once a week at a riding school. I went to several summer camps and continued the lessons until I was about 12. After that I started riding my friend’s horse and took private lessons with one or two other girls and eventually started to help out at my friend’s stable which they had at home (she was a few years older than me and and had two ponies at the time). At some point when I was 13 my parents finally decided to get me a pony, it was one of the ponies I took care of. Definitely not the easiest pony to have, he made me fall off about once a week and caused a lot of tears when thing’s didn’t go as planned. I have a couple of photos and videos of him, he is a New Forest pony and he’s called Herry Marquis.

I think this photo if from the spring 2004 or 2005, not sure.

Here’s a little jumping video from a training. I learned how to jump with him and I competed a bit as well, but mostly at very small competitions.


When I was 15 I started to realise that I was getting too big for my pony and that I wanted to be able to compete more, to get better results and to just jump more. We decided to sell my pony ans start looking for a horse. Obviously it wasn’t an easy decision, it is always hard to see your pet go after seeing them every day. This was in the summer 2005, I tried several different horses until I found the one I wanted. He was called Le Santon and he was an Oldenburg horse and he had just been transported from Germany to Finland a month before we bought him.

He wasn’t always very easy to hold when jumping because he has a tendency to get a bit hot headed. The first picture is from Switzerland in 2008 and the others were taken in Finland in 2006 I think.

I don’t have a lot of pictures from competitions because we almost always filmed them and all the videos are in Switzerland. Here are a few more pictures from Switzerland though.

We moved to Switzerland in 2006, a year after we bought Le Santon. We left him in Finland for a few months so that we could get settled and then he came a bit later. I competed with him on a regional level up to 110 cm. When I knew I was going to go to university in England I knew I couldn’t keep him any more so we decided to sell him. After that I stopped riding for about six months because it felt weird just going to horse riding lessons. Last summer I worked at a riding school and got to train with a five year old horse called Cinnamon and I also competed with him a few times and did very well. Unfortunately all of those videos are in Switzerland but hopefully I’ll be able to put them on my computer when I go home the next time.

This entry was posted in general, Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 14 years of Horse Riding

  1. This is lovely to see, the pictures are stunning and your pony and horse were beautiful 🙂
    I have been riding for most of my life too so I know how you feel. It’s one of the best feelings in the world to connect to an animal like that. Do you like the designer Ralph Lauren? I love his use of the equestrian and cowboy themes in his work.
    Lx

    • Meri says:

      Thank you so much! I totally agree, I can’t wait to get back on a horse. And yes I love Ralph Lauren, especially the equestrian designs. At the moment I really like his navy blazer, it would be a perfect addition to my wardrobe. I would pretty much want to have all of his design in my closet 😀

  2. Steffy says:

    what gorgeous pictures! you look great on the horse, i am so afraid i could never ride. my mom once got kicked by one, and she passed the fear onto me 🙂 thanks for following my blog, and i will definitely follow yours back!

    ❤ steffy
    steffysprosandcons.blogspot.com

  3. Snow Black says:

    I love horses though unfortunately have a bit of an allergy to them ;-( It’s wonderful and I wish I could do dressage. Gorgeous horses!

  4. Joanna K. says:

    Love your blog!!
    It is amazing that you’re a horse rider

    snobpeople.blogspot.com

  5. Jaclyn says:

    These pictures are so pretty. Your horse is beautiful! I used to ride all throughout my childhood, but when I went to college I had to give it up as well and sell my horse. It was definitely so hard and I hope I can pick it up again. It’s great seeing some of your training photos, thanks for shairng

    So glad I found your blog.

    • Meri says:

      thank you 🙂 It was definitely really hard but I’m glad I have a horse I can train with when I go back to Switzerland even though I don’t own him. I hope to put up some videos from competitions but it will take some time to get it done.

  6. i love that you ride! i used to ride myself too–years ago. I was in Manila then…now i live in BKK . I hope you can follow my blog too:)

    keep it up.. you inspire me…

  7. Aino says:

    Ohh magee hevonen ja blogi! Itse kaipaan ratsastusta niin paljon,lopetin tunneilla käymisen ennen lukiota ja nyt taas himottais niin paljon päästä oikeasti treenaamaan ja valmentautumaan!:) oh why is it so expensive?

Leave a Reply

